Q100049: How to avoid using Collective license before non-Collective

Follow

SYMPTOMS

Sometimes, when the floating license server is serving a mix of collective and non-collective licenses, a client-side machine can be denied a license with a message that all licenses are already in use, and the count in use doesn't seem to match what the user thinks s/he should have available.

CAUSE

When a client-side machine is allocated a license from a Collective, all of the product licenses in that Collective are allocated to that user, even though the machine may be running a different product - not using the product that seems to be short in the count.
 
1 Production Collective license gives you the ability to run Nuke Studio, Mari, and Modo on 1 machine.

A machine using a Production Collective license may run any or all of the products in the Collective simultaneously, and any number of instances of each - limited only by the resources of the machine.

The purpose of having x number of Production Collective licenses is to provide Nuke Studio, Mari, and Modo to x number of machines, so they can be productive with whichever product suits the moment. Therefore, if you have 4 Production Collective licenses, then you can run Nuke Studio, Mari, and Modo on 4 machines.
 
1 Creation Collective license gives you the ability to run Modo, Mari, and HieroPlayer on 1 machine.

A machine using a Creation Collective license may run any or all of the products in the Collective simultaneously, and any number of instances of each - limited only by the resources of the machine.

The purpose of having x number of Creation Collective licenses is to provide Modo, Mari, and HieroPlayer to x number of machines, so they can be productive with whichever product suits the moment. Therefore, if you have 4 Creation Collective licenses, then you can run Modo, Mari, and HieroPlayer on 4 machines.

RESOLUTION

The license manager allocates licenses in the order in which they are found in the license file. The Production Collective or Creation Collective license should probably be made the last one in your server's license file. That way, if one of the other non-Collective licenses is available and can meet the client's need, then it will be allocated ahead of the Collective.


You can edit the license file, just use plain text and save it with the same filename. An FLU Diagnostic will show you where it is and what it looks like.


Stop and Start the RLM Server using the FLU to read the updated file.

You also have other ways to allocate: by adding lines to the options file that define users or groups of users and include, exclude, or reserve specific licenses for those users or groups.

Options file syntax is explained in RLM documentation included in your server's Foundry License Tools (FLT) install:

../TheFoundry/LicensingTools7.x/Docs/RLM_Enduser.html

There's an options file in the server's FLT install already. It only has a TIMEOUTALL line in it by default. Diagnostic also shows that file.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful